Indecision in South Carolina

After weeks of indecision, I was really happy when I finally settled on simplifying things by just spending three or four nights in Columbia as our home base.  The plan felt like it was finally coming together!  This way we know where we are spending each night but can play things by ear during the day.

During our stay in Columbia, we want to see the capitol building, Congaree National Park and maybe the zoo?  Then things we want to do during our stay in South Carolina are fishing (ocean and salt marsh), kayaking, hiking, eating seafood, and biking.  I am a bit concerned on the heat and humdity but we shall see.

Initially I thought we would spend a day trip at Myrtle Beach where my hubby could fish on the fishing pier at the state park we had visited many years ago and I could lay on the beach.  I’d also like to see Charleston and both are within 3 hours of Columbia.  However, I was telling my good friend about my plans, and I found out he grew up in Beaufort. He informed me it is pronounced Beeyoo fort instead of beau fort because there is a town called beau fort in NC.  Anyway, he recommended  nearby Hunting Island State Park for the beaches and a lighthouse you can still climb the stairs to the top.  I really liked this Hunting Island State Park website because not only do they tell you about the area but also had really interesting articles on fishing and how to go crabbing.

He also recommended various parks in Beaufort and a restaurant in the nearby town that is right on the pier called Dockside.  It sounded perfect for us because it is really good food that the locals go to but nothing fancy.  After seeing all the rave reviews at various websites and his personal recommendation we will definitely go there while in Beaufort!

After going to the Beaufort tourism website here, this looked like the perfect place for us and it is even closer than Myrtle Beach by a half hour.  Who knows?  We may go back for a 2nd day.

Leave a Reply

